Shrubs Nursery Montgomery, Grimes, Walker

Beautify your garden with shrubs from our shrubs nursery

Shrubs require even less maintenance than plants such as perennials. This generalization does not apply if you intend to maintain a manicured hedge along walkways instead of planting dwarf shrubs.

Shrubs for Texas

Common Name Botanical Name Zone Sun Part Sun Shade Height Spread Origin Image
Red Buckeye Aesculus pavia 4 Yes Yes No 10-15′ 10-20′ Native red-buckeye-01
Century Plant Agave americana 8 Yes No No 6′ 6′ Native century-plant-02
Bird of Paradise Caesalpinia gillesii 8 Yes No No 5-10′ 4-6′ South America bird-of-paradise-03
Mexican Bird of Paradise Caesalpinia mexicana 8 Yes No No 6-15′ 3-6′ Mexico ??????????????????????
Pride of Barbados Caesalpinia pulcherrima 8 Yes Yes No 5-10′ 5-10′ Central and South America pride-of-barbados-05
American Beauty Berry Callicarpa americana 6 Yes Yes No 5-8′ 5-8′ Native american-beauty-berry
Button bush Cephalanthus occidentalis 5 Yes Yes No 5-12′ 4-8′ Native button-bush
Roughleaf Dogwood Cornus drummondii 3 Yes Yes No 8-16′ 8-16′ Native roughleaf-dogwood
Texas Sotol Dasylirion texana 8 Yes Yes No 3-5′ 3-5′ Native texas-sotol
Wheeler Sotol Dasylirion wheeleri 7 Yes No No 3-5′ 4-6′ Native wheeler-sotol
Coral Bean, Giant Erythrina bidwilii (E. herbacea x E. crista galli) 8 Yes No No 6-15′ 6-10′ Hybrid coral-bean-giant
Gregg’s Mist Flower, Texas Ageratum Eupatorium greggii 7 Yes Yes No 2′ 1-2′ Native greggs-mist-flower-texas-ageratum
Fragrant Mist Flower Eupatorium havanense 8 Yes Yes No 2-6′ 2-6′ Native fragrant-mist-flower
Texas Kidneywood Eysenhardtia texana 8 Yes Yes No 6-12′ 4-8′ Native texas-kidneywood
Elbow Bush Foresteria pubescens 7 Yes Yes No 6-10′ 8-10′ Native elbow-bush
Giant Red Yucca Hesperaloe funifera 7 Yes No No 6′ 6′ Cental America giant-red-yucca
Red Yucca Hesperaloe parviflora 7 Yes No No 2-3′ 4′ Native red-yucca
Texas Star Hibiscus Hibiscus coccineus 7 Yes Yes No 3-6′ 2-3′ Native texas-star-hibiscus
Dwarf Yaupon Holly Ilex vomitoria, ‘Nana’ 7 Yes Yes No 2-3 2-3 Hybrid dwarf-yaupon-holly
Green Texas Sage or Cenizo Leucophyllum frutescens 8 Yes No No 4-8′ 4-8′ Native green-texas-sage-or-cenizo
Compact Texas Sage or Cenizo Leucophyllum frutescens ‘Compactum’ 8 Yes No No 4′ 4′ Cultivar compact-texas-sage-or-cenizo
Convent Sage or Cenizo Leucophyllum frutescens’Convent’ 8 Yes No No 6′ 6′ Native convent-sage-or-cenizo
San Jose Cenizo Leucophyllum sp. 8 Yes No No 4-5′ 4-5′ Native san-jose-cenizo
Agarita Mahonia trifoliolata (Berberis trifoliolata) 6 Yes Yes Yes 6′ 6′ Native agarita
Dwarf Barbados Cherry Malpighia punicifolia 8 Yes Yes No 3′ 4′ South America dwarf-barbados-cherry
Fragrant mimosa Mimosa borealis 7 Yes No No 3′ 3′ Native fragrant-mimosa
Nolina Nolina lindheimeriana 8 Yes Yes No 1-3′ 2-4′ Native nolina
Spineless Prickly Pear Opuntia ellisiana 8 Yes No No 3-9′ 5-8′ Cultivar spineless-prickly-pear
Spineless Prickly Pear ‘Old Mexico’ Opuntia gomei ‘Old Mexico’ 8 Yes Yes No 6′ 6′ Central America spineless-prickly-pear-old-mexico
Aromatic Sumac Rhus aromatica 3 Yes Yes No 2-6′ 6-10′ Native aromatic-sumac
Evergreen Sumac Rhus virens 8 Yes Yes No 6-8′ 6-10′ Native evergreen-sumac
Martha Gonzales Rose Rosa ‘Martha Gonzales’ 7 Yes Yes No 3′ 3′ Cultivar martha-gonzales-rose
Nearly Wild Rose Rosa ‘Nearly Wild’ 4 Yes No No 2-3′ 2-3′ Cultivar nearly-wide-rose
Upright Rosemary Rosemary officinalis 8 Yes No No 3′ 4′ Mediterranean upright-rosemary
Dwarf Palmetto Sabal minor 7 No Yes Yes 3-5′ 4-6′ Native dwarf-palmetto
Common Tree Senna Senna corymbosa (Cassia corymbosa) 8 Yes Yes No 5-8′ 3-6′ South America common-tree-senna
Coralberry Symphoricarpos orbiculatus 3 Yes Yes Yes 2-5′ 4-8′ Native coralberry
Esperanza Tecoma stans ‘Esperanza’ 9 Yes Yes No 3-6′ 3-6′ Cultivar esperanza
Yellow Bells Tecoma stans var. angustata 8 Yes No No 4-6′ 4-6′ Native yellow-bells
Sangria Yellow Bells Tecoma stans var. angustata Sangria 7 Yes No No 4-6′ 4-6′ Native sangria-yellow-bells
Silver Bush Germander Teucrium fruticans 8 Yes Yes No 6′ 3-6′ Mediterranean silver-bush-germander
Beach Vitex Vitex rotundifolia 6 Yes No No 1-2′ 6-8′ Hawaii beach-vitex
Yucca constricta Yucca constricta 8 Yes No No 3-5′ 3-5′ Native yucca-constricta
Faxon Yucca Yucca faxoniana 8 Yes Yes No 25′ 10′ Native faxon-yucca
Yucca rostrata x rigida Yucca rostrata x rigida 8 Yes No No 12-15′ 10-15′ Native yucca-rostrata-x-rigida
Twist Leaf Yucca Yucca rupicola 8 Yes Yes No 2′ 2′ Native twisted-leaf-yucca
Spanish Dagger Yucca traeculeana 8 Yes No No 5-25′ 5′ Native spanish-dagger